Backgammon Masters Awarding Body (BMAB)


The Backgammon Masters Awarding Body (BMAB) awards mastership titles and proficiency level certificates to players based on demonstrated skill. The fundamental goal of BMAB is to promote backgammon as a leading international mind-sport.

Players are awarded titles based on their calculated performance rating (PR) in a large number of verified tournament matches. 

General BMAB Grading Structure.

  • Super Grand Master, 2.5 PR or lower
  • Grand Master, 4 PR or lower
  • Master, 6.5 PR or lower
  • Advanced 10, PR or lower
  • Intermediate 16 PR or lower

Visit to learn more.