On this page

Executive Committee

  • Members: John Pirner (Chair), Dan Minardi, Ben Friesen, Frank Talbot
  • Charge: Provide advice on policy and management issues 

Governance and Nominating Committee

  • Members: Antoinette Williams (Chair), John Pirner
  • Charge: Oversee election of directors, identify additional needed Board director competencies, succession planning

Hall of Fame Committee

  • Members: Joe Russell (Chair), Patrick Gibson, Neil Kazaross, Kent Goulding, Frank Talbot, Karen Davis, Jake Jacobs
  • Charge: Oversee election of inductees to Hall of Fame; awards dinner

Local Club Committee

  • Members: Albert Steg (Chair), Ted Chee, Ed Corey, Karen Davis, Jack Edelson, Ben Friesen, Joe Miller, Jeff Proctor
  • Charge: Provide information and support to potential new local club directors; refine information packet for directors; advise on website redesign to support local club directors; oversee Local Club Initiative; advise on local club master point system; assist with annual Local Club Player of Year article for magazine.

Membership Committee

  • Members: Ed Corey (Chair)
  • Charge: Oversee membership recruitment and retention strategy, develop and advise on special membership promotions; advise on adopting automatic recurring PayPal renewal; advise on website redesign as it affects membership

Ratings and Statistics Committee

  • Members: Jeb Horton (Chair), Rich Munitz, Neil Kazaross, Joe Russell
  • Charge: Oversee ABT, USBGF National Master Points, USBGF Online Master Points system; advise on implementation of a local club master point system

Rules and Ethics Committee

  • Members: Frank Talbot (Chair), Jeb Horton, Neil Kazaross, Rich Munitz
  • Charge: Develop refinements to USBGF Rules; liaison with WBGF international working group on Rules; oversee adherence to Rules and Ethics

Eligibility Committee

  • Members: Rory Pascar (Chair), Ian Terry, Roberto Litzenberger, Dmitriy Obukhov
  • Charge: Develop and enforce eligibility standards for tournament play.

Local Club Initiative

  • Members: Bill Lonergan (Chair)
  • Charge: To execute the local club initiative, which includes rewarding performance at the local club level. 

Calendar Committee

  • Members: Jonah Seewald (Chair), Roberto Litzenberger, Joe Urso
  • Charge: Help facilitate discussions and provide impartial support in cases where there may be differences in tournament dates. 

U.S. Backgammon Foundation Directors

  • Karen Davis, President and Executive Director
  • John Pirner, Chairman of the Board
  • Board of Directors: Art Benjamin, Joe Russell, Jason Briggs, Dan Minardi
  • Charge: Review and approve Foundation budget; develop fund-raising strategy; oversee policy on support of streaming and educational activities