National Internet Championship: And the Winners Are!

The results are in! After a gruelling NINE rounds of world class competition in the USBGF National Internet Championship, the winner of the Open Division is Dorn Bishop! 2nd place in the Open Division goes to Svilen Todorov. 3rd and 4th place in the Open Division were Frank Frigo and Paul Weaver. Dorn Bishop and Frank Frigo have earned two of the four spots on the U.S. team for the upcoming 2012 Nation’s Cup, also to be played on GridGammon.
The inaugural USBGF National Internet Championship, co-directed by Joe Russell and Justin Nunez, is one of the largest online U.S. backgammon tournament ever — 191 players began the long journey to the finals including:  the Intermediate Division  with 33 players, the Advanced Division  with 47 players, and the Open Division with 111 players!

Let’s also give a round of applause to the Finalists of the Intermediate and Advanced Divisions. Joe Roth won the Intermediate, with Evren Koptur coming in 2nd Place. Semifinalists were Carol McGannon and Kat Denison. Bruce Newberg won the Advanced, with Angelo Wilson coming in 2nd Place. Simifinalists were Leon Marzillier and Peter Kasturas.

The finalists and semi finalists in all Divisions will receive USBGF certificates signed by the Tournament Directors, as well as have their names and photos displayed permanently on the USBGF website Hall of Fame. The winners of each division will also receive a qualifying spot in the 2012 USBGF National Championship Playoff, bypassing the qualifying brackets of 8.

Congratulations to all of you on a fine performance against tough competition! We hope to see you all again in next year’s tournament.


Speak Your Mind